Our leadership team

The Congregation of the Franciscan Missionaries of St. Joseph of the Third Order Regular of St. Francis of Assisi, founded in 1883 by Mother Mary Francis Ingham and Bishop ( later Cardinal) Vaughan, is a religious congregation of pontifical right. (FMSJ Constitutions)

Sister Anne Moore is our current Congregational Leader. She is assisted by Sister Margaret Nyabongoye, assistant Congregational Leader, Sister Annjentrix, Bursar, Sister Frances Slater, Secretary General and   Sister Brenda Makokha, Councillor. These 5 sisters form the Congregational Leadership Team and are also the trustees of the Congregation.

Seated: Sr. Margaret, Sr. Anne, Standing: Sr. Annjentrix, Sr. Frances, Sr. Brenda

The Headquarters of the Congregation is the Generalate, located at St. Joseph’s Convent, 150 Greenleach Lane, Worsley, Manchester M28 2TS. Telephone:0161 794 1062; Fax: 0161 794 6420.



As followers of Francis and in the spirit of Mother Foundress, we centre our lives on Jesus, the Word made flesh, and born in poverty. Like Francis who was called the mirror of Christ, we strive to become the love of God made visible.

Justice and Peace

From the earliest days of our Congregation, FMSJs have been committed to working for justice and peace in our society through service to the poor, vulnerable and marginalized.

Care for the environment

In accordance with our Chapter statement, we encourage the sisters to share ideas and best practices on how they are promoting the care of the environment in their ministries


The Franciscan Missionaries of St. Joseph is a small, international religious community currently serving in the U.K, Kenya, Uganda, The Netherlands, Ireland, Ecuador and the U.S.A.